June 2016 Print

PRSA Meeting Notice

You never know when a crisis will hit. In 2013, Keith Isbell and the Williams team dealt with a tragic industrial accident at a company plant in Louisiana which drew national news coverage.

Keith Isbell is a member of the external communications team at Williams, and previously led communications for a local school district and worked in the media as an anchor and reporter for a local television station.

Keith joins us at our June Meeting to discuss how the Williams team handled this situation, offer lessons learned, and provide key insight to ensure your crisis communications plan is ready, should a crisis strike.

Back to top

Silver Link Awards 2015

Enter the PRSA Tulsa Silver Link Awards today!

Final Deadline: June 22 by 5 p.m.

PRSA Tulsa Silver Link Awards recognize exemplary public relations achievements in 24 program and tactics categories. Additionally, PRSA Tulsa honors two public relations professionals for outstanding contributions to the profession.

Each Silver Link entrant receives a constructive critique by a panel of judges from a partner PRSA

Proceeds from this event provide college scholarships for undergraduate students in eastern Oklahoma college and university public relations programs.

Click here to access the 2015 Silver Link Awards Call for Entries including category information and entry instructions

Back to top

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Tulsa chapter has awarded Jordan Ballard and Dae'lyn Smith the Chuck Schnake Memorial Scholarship for the 2017-2018 spring semester. Both Ballard and Smith will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Jordan Ballard of Independence, KS will be entering her junior year in 2019 at Rogers State University. Ballard is majoring in corporate communications and working towards two minors in public administration and technical writing. Ballard also self-publishes her own work.

Dae’lyn Smith of Mannford, OK and a first generation college student will be entering her senior year at Northeastern State University. Smith is majoring political science and media studies with an emphasis in public relations. She is actively involved in student government at Northeastern Stare University, a member of Rho Theta Sigma and is a Delta Zeta.  She is also the Editor in Chief of the Northeastern State University newspaper.

The Chuck Schnake Memorial Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students beginning their junior or senior year pursuing a degree in communications, public relations, journalism or a closely related area. Selection of the scholarship winners is based on an essay response detailing how the scholarship will help them achieve academic and career goals, along with their overall involvement in communications, academic standing, and campus and community involvement.